Rough Patches

This week has been pretty darn emotional. It seems as if at every turn someone delivers a new punch. Two direct hits have knocked the wind out of me this week, BUT I’m still standing! On Wednesday I found out some news regarding my job, then Thursday I found out I need to have a double biopsy on two of my five thyroid nodules.
Maybe the shock of those two things hasn’t really worn off because I continue to try and process those two situations and what they mean. I’m no stranger to things happening in bunches, I can take a direct hit or two or five. My process is this…
  • Access the situation
    Fully process what the news means emotionally, physically and mentally
    Come up with possible “fixes” or ways to tackle each issue
    Pray for guidance
    Hand it over to God once it becomes too much for me to bear.
The medical wake up call I needed was that of the biopsy. I personally am not that concerned with the outcome whether they are benign or not. I place it in Gods’ hands. If its part of my battle, so be it, if not then we’ll move on.  I admit I have taken my health for granted, I think we all do at some point in our lives. But this has really re-awoken the need to get back into getting healthy and living life to its fullest.
Unfortunately, my worry-free approach to the biopsy is not shared by others. Two such examples I experienced yesterday. When I told one person, their response, “Shit, Kristi. I am so sorry, so they think it’s cancer?” Biopsy does not always mean you have cancer. Biopsies are used to rule out cancer. My Doctor told me, she herself has had a biopsy done on her own nodules. And if she were betting, she’d say they are benign…My thoughts on my nodules, God brought me to it, he’ll bring me through it.
Life is short. We are supposed to live our lives to the fullest. Live with no regrets. No “I wish I had done…” “I wish I would have said…” Don’t wait, do those things now! Don’t forget to tell people what they mean to you. Say, I love you…and mean it. Tell people how important they are to you. Take risks. Be adventurous. Laugh until you cry, then laugh some more. Hug tightly. Love with all your heart.

“Forever I will move like the world that turns beneath me
And when I lose my direction I’ll look up to the sky
And when the black cloak drags upon the ground
I’ll be ready to surrender, and remember
Well we’re all in this together
If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be scared to die “

– The Once and Future Carpenter, The Avett Brothers

Leave a Reply

