Friendship

“I get by with a little help from my friends.” That statement is so true. Through all my adversities in life, I have been fortunate enough to have a friend(s) to turn to. I’m a firm believer that God gives us the people we need in life. He has blessed me beyond measure with some pretty awesome friends.

I keep a close circle of friends, quality over quantity. I want people in my life who I know truly have my best interests at heart. Friends who are supportive at all times, and are truthful with me. Friends, I know I can go to when my world seems to be falling down around me, whom I know can listen attentively and offer the words I need to hear.

I have lost my fair share of “friends” over the years, I now realize those “friends” were actually just acquaintances. They were placed in my life to teach me a lesson, mostly the lesson was learning how to let go. I used to question myself after losing each friendship. “What did I do wrong? Was I not a good enough friend?” I have grown to realize  I did nothing wrong, sometimes people aren’t meant to stay in our lives forever, just for a season or two.

Friendship is one of the most important things in my life. I sometimes expect too much from them, I know. (Sorry y’all for being a needy friend) I like knowing about my friends, so I ask TONS of questions. My INFJ personality comes through in full force sometimes. I love learning about the people I invite into my life. By doing so it helps me know different ways I can be a more supportive friend.

I’m also the kind of friend who sends random cards, letters, or gifts. I’m not trying to buy your friendship. I can just see something that reminds me of my friend and want them to know, someone thought of them and that their friendship is appreciated. I’m a random texter too…I love getting texts, so I love sharing things whether it be a, “Just wanted to check in on you” or “I hope you have a great day” text.

The only thing I ask from my friends in return is honesty, respect, and communication. If something is bothering you that I have done, tell me. Please do not tell me one thing, then do another. I let you into my life because I want you there, do not lie to me, play games with me or talk about me in my absence. I know first hand that friends will stab you in the back and break your heart just as quick as anyone else. All I ask is that if I allow you into my circle, respect it and respect me.

One thought on “Friendship

Leave a Reply

